top of page
Search
  • Cody Ray

Re-Gun-Struction Postmortem

Introduction

My name is Cody Ray and I was one of the Game Designer’s for Re-Gun-Struction. Our group, collectively named Mad Labs, is a small group of six Master students from the Game Design Master’s degree program at Full Sail University.

Re-Gun-Struction is a gun building first person shooter (fps) being made for the PC. It was made to be a prototype for our Class Prototyping and Content Creation, which teaches us more about the prototyping phase of a game and some of the hurdles and challenges we will face in this phase.

from my point of view there were a number of things I believe we did right while building this prototype as well as a number of this we did wrong, I will discuss both of these points as well as what I believe we can do to improve upon them.

Things we did right

1. Group discussions, when we were first assigned our task of creating a prototype we quickly got together and civilly discussed the type of game we were going to make as well as how to best divide of the roles/tasks.

2. Cohesion, if there was any friction between team members it did not show when we worked together as bad mothing was kept to a minimum when something didn’t go as planned and there was no infighting.

3. Scope, I believe we did a good job creating a workable prototype with the resources we had available to us. I also believe we did well in finding said resources that we could use.

4. Time, I believe we were able to accomplish a lot in the time we had and were always able to present better and more advanced prototypes each week.

5. Feedback, I believe we were did well in listening and responding to the feedback we were receiving.

Things we did wrong

1. Attendance, I believe we could have done better in regards to our meetings as we only meet once a week and some of our members were not able to make it to the meetings do to conflicting schedules.

2. Communication, many times I would ask a question in our Discord server and I would more often than not, not get a response for a few hours if at all. And in some of the instances where members could not make it they did not communicate it and we only learned after we reached out to them when they did not show.

3. Division of resources, while I said we were able to decide on the game and divide tasks civilly, my primary role is that of a Write and they specifically chose to make a game that does not have a narrative and when I brought this up, they essentially said too bad. So most of my time on this game was spent looking up tutorials to quickly learn new skills so I could contribute.

4. Preparation, this point is in regards to myself, I don’t believe I did as well as I could have in preparing for the weekly presentations.

Conclusion

Re-Gun-Struction was fun to make and work on, I learned a lot from the experiences both good and bad. I hope to further increase my skills sets so that I am able to contribute more to projects that I will work on in the future. I also, intend to be more vocal and active in the projects so that my skill sets will show more and that I can improve and be an asset to the group.

10 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All

Expanded Post Mortem

Expanded Post Mortem Documentation Section I: Self-Assessment – 15pts Complete the following. Please include the questionsandprovide examplesin your responses. 1. Detail your experience and skills co

ReGUNstruction Post Mortem Part 2

Introduction My name is Cody Ray and I was one of the Game Designer’s for ReGUNstruction. Our group, collectively named Mad Labs, is a small group of six Master students from the Game Design Master’s

Mastery Journal Post: MEX

The Methods and The User Experience course has further increased my interests into user experience and the idea of designing a product for humans with humans in mind, as well as solidified my belief i

bottom of page